The Ruta del Cister takes in 65 towns and villages in the comarques (local districts) of L'Alt Camp, La Conca de Barberà and L'Urgell (Spain).
The monasteries of Santes Creus in L'Alt Camp, Poblet in La Conca de Barberà and Vallbona de les Monges in L'Urgell (Spain), were founded in the 12th century and constitute one of the most important examples of Cistercian settlement in Europe. In fact, it was largely due to them that the term "Cistercian" came to be applied in reference to the artistic, cultural and historical legacy of these inland "comarques".
The Cistercian order was founded in France in 1098 by a group of monks loyal to the norms laid out in the "Rules of St. Benedict"; prayer, work (Ora et Labora), austerity, meditation and poverty. In the 12th century, the Cistercian order established an important foothold in Europe and Spain through the efforts of Bernard of Claravall, who promoted both the architecture and religious doctrine of the Cistercians throughout Western Europe.

Information provided by:

Consell Comarcal de l'Urgell

C/Agoders, 16 
25300 Tàrrega 
Tel.: 973 500707 
Fax: 973 500666