The comarca (local district) of L’Urgell has a total extension of 586 km2, more than 35,000 inhabitants and 20 municipalities plus 23 aggregated settlements. Three rivers cross the comarca: the Sió, Ondara and Corb. The dry lands of this comarca were transformed by the Canal d’Urgell, which has helped to make it one of the richest areas in Catalonia. L’Urgell has three important population centres that structure its territory and also house the majority of its economic activity: Agramunt, Bellpuig and Tàrrega (the capital of the comarca). The area’s economy is largely based on agriculture and livestock farming, which are complemented by its metal and food industries.

History has left its mark on the comarca in the form of architectural treasures that include the Monastery of Vallbona de les Monges, which lies on the Cistercian Route. The villages of the comarca also jealously guard their customs and traditions. This can clearly be seen from the area’s many traditional local festivals, which include: the Grape Harvest and Wine festival of Verdú, the Processó dels Dolors (a religious procession) of Bellpuig, the Reaping and Threshing festivals of La Fuliola, the Street Theatre Festival of Tàrrega, and the Torró (almond nougat) and Xocolata (chocolate) festivals of Agramunt.